The Power of Togetherness


akhilsethi randomnomics blog post housing brandcoverImage Courtesy: Housing.com

This post is not about one single memorable day but a memorable journey with my life partner who gave me the strength and motivation at a time during which I required the most.

There was a time when things were not going good for me. I completed my B.Tech in 2007 in Electronics and communication. After that, I didn’t want to pursue the tech. field any further OR even get placed in a technical role in any of the reputed companies as I was way too bored with the subjects that I cleared 🙂 Hence I paused my life a bit, took a step back and thought what could be the best way to approach life or I’d should say my professional career going forward.

After some so-called introspection, I decided to prepare for MBA entrance exams as I thought this would be the best way to completely shift from an engineering background to a non-engineering one 🙂

Deciding to go for the MBA entrance exams was one thing, preparing for the same was another but the hardest was scoring well and getting into one of the reputed MBA schools. To prepare for the exams, I did two things:

a) Moved to a different place within Delhi with two of my best buddies

b) Joined one of the coaching institutes which gave me all the preparation material which was required

Apart from these, the coaching institute’s faculty was good and very supportive with every student. The preparation went well for initial month, but after that the coaching institute started taking mock tests where the actual realization happened 🙂 One after another, I scored below par in each of them and this had a negative impact on my confidence as well as preparation. Me and my buddies who were preparing with me scored well but not that well to expect a call from any of the reputed B-schools. We used to have long conversations with each other on the approach or tactics we should deploy to counter our low percentile in mock-tests, but we weren’t able to think of anything concrete which could save us.

I also used to discuss all this with my girlfriend and ultimately she came to my rescue. She showed confidence in me as she knew if I work hard and stick to it, I would definitely get entry into any of the reputed B-schools. Because of her belief in my abilities and dedication, I did clear entrance exam of one of the reputed institutes. Even today, I still remember our phone calls and meetings where she used to push me to work hard for it.

I just want to thank her to give me power, making me remain optimistic during those difficult times. Without her, this wouldn’t have been possible 🙂

This post was created for: https://housing.com/in

 

Leave a Reply

